Skip to content ↓

About Us

Meet the Governors

Our Governors

Fiona Gordon

Julia Akerman
(Vice Chair)

Alex Davies
Facilities Committee (Chair)

Amy Cholefko
Quality of Education (Chair)

Anne Bryson

Jeremy Rebbeck

Jo Rich
Finance & Personnel (Chair)

Rev Lara Bloom
Ex Officio Governor
Priest in charge of St John the Baptist Church, Huntley

Ethos Committee (Chair)

Foundation Governor Vacancy

Ella Curtis

Sheralee Bramley

Naomi Mason 
Clerk to the Governing Body

Contact Us

The Role of the Governing Body

The school has an active Governing Body comprised of parents, staff, church and community representatives. The Governors have four main roles – strategic planning, support and monitoring, finance, and upholding the Christian ethos of our school.

Strategic Planning

We plan with the staff leadership team for the strategic development and improvement of the school. This is both in physical terms, with regard to the development of the site and facilities, and in terms of the development of the school’s ethos and the curriculum.

Support and Monitoring

We support, monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of the school. This is sometimes referred to as the role of a ‘critical friend’. We ask clear, useful and challenging questions about the way things are done and the reasons for them being done that way. This also involves setting the policy framework for the school and monitoring the implementation of policies as managed and carried out by the Head Teacher and staff, as well as holding the school to account for the standards achieved and the quality of education provided.


We hold the school to account for the handling of its finances, which includes both planning for long term spending and setting and monitoring the annual budget and funds.

Christian Ethos

We have Foundation Governors who have a particular responsibility for supporting and developing the Christian character of the school as a Church of England School. All members of the Governing Body are aware of and nurture our Church School distinctiveness.


We meet at least four times a year as a Full Governing Body and have four committees with different areas of responsibility that meet separately:

Ethos Committee

  • SIAMs
  • Christian Distinctiveness
  • School/Christian values
  • Personal Development and Behaviour

Facilities Committee

  • Health and Safety
  • Risk assessment
  • Premises

Finance and Personnel Committee

  • Staffing
  • Budget
  • Financial Management

Quality of Education Committee

  • Curriculum
  • Data

In addition to these main committees there is a small panel of governors which oversees the Head Teacher’s development, and also working parties which are set up to address certain areas as and when necessary. Monitoring and data analysis of the school’s performance is ongoing and is a constant focus for the Governing Body as a whole, as is the curriculum, pupils’ outcomes, SEND, safeguarding and challenge.

Governor Attendance 2001-22

Our Governors

Our Governing Body is made up of Foundation Governors (appointed by the Diocese of Gloucester), Parent Governors (elected by parents and carers), Staff Governors (elected by the staff), the Head Teacher, a Local Authority Governor (appointed by the Governing Body) and a Clerk. The term of office for elected governors is 4 years. 

Governing Body 2021-22

Category of Governor Name Date Appointed Term Ends Roles & Responsibilities Committee Membership
Appointed by Diocese 
Alex Davies 06/02/2018
05/02/2022 Health & Safety
Facilities (Chair)
Amy Cholefko 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 SEND, Pupil Premium, Maths Quality of Education (Chair)
Anne Bryson 01/01/2021 31/12/2024 English Ethos
Finance & Personnel
Jeremy Rebbeck 01/06/21 31/05/2025 SIAMs Facilities
Julia Akerman 01/05/2019 30/04/2023 Vice Chair of Governors
Foundation Subjects
Finance & Personnel
Quality of Education
Ex-Officio Lara Bloom 31/10/2017 N/A SIAMs Ethos (Chair)
Jo Rich
10/09/2019 09/09/2023 Safeguarding English Finance & Personnel (Chair)
Nominated by LA approved by Full Governing Board (FGB)
Fiona Gordon 02/07/2019 01/07/2023 Chair of Governors
Safeguarding Foundation Subjects
Finance & Personnel
Quality of Education
Sheralee Bramley 01/09/2020 31/08/2024 Deputy Designated Safeguarding Ethos
Head Ella Curtis 01/09/2018 N/A   Ethos

Finance & Personnel
Quality of Education

Declaration of Interests 2021-22

Name Relevant business/personal interests Other Educational Establishments Governed?


Alex Davis None No No
Amy Cholefko Member of Huntley C of E School PTFA No No
Anne Bryson None No No
Ella Curtis Headteacher at Huntley C of E School No No
Fiona Gordon Nursery Manager at Tibberton Early Years No No
Jeremy Rebbeck None No No
Jo Rich Careers Leader at Dene Magna School and Sixth Form
Member of Huntley C of E School PTFA 
No No
Julia Akerman Employee at Crowe UK LLP No No
Rev Lara Bloom None No No
Sheralee Bramley Teacher at Huntley C of E School No No

Term Ended or Stepped Down in the last 12 Months

Governors whose term has
ended or who have
stepped down in the last 12 months
Maddy Hulse 01/01/2017 to 31/12/2021
Barbara Fellowes 01/03/2018 to 31/02/2022

Get In Touch